2023 NAWOJ Election: NUJ Applauds Sharafadeen Alli, Deolu Akande, Ahmed Raji, Wasiu Adebisi for Supports in Abuja,  Congratulations New NAWOJ Leaders (PHOTOS)


The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Oyo State Council on Sunday applauded the Senator representing Oyo South senatorial district in the National Assembly, Sharafadeen Abiodun Alli; the immediate past Executive Chairman, Nigeria Communications Commission, Prof. Deolu Akande for their immeasurable supports to the Union and members during the just concluded 11th triennial national delegates’ conference in Abuja.

The State Chairman of the Union, Ademola Babalola and the Secretary, Sola Oladapo also expressed sincere appreciation to the duo of an Oke Ogun, Oyo State-born Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Alhaji Ahmed Raji and the Union’s unrelenting frontline supporter, Alhaji Abdulwasiu Adebisi, a renown Architect in the federation.

According to the Union, the supports they received from these individuals and Hon. Wale Ajani, the immediate past Oyo State Director-General, Abuja Liaison Office made their 4-day stay in Abuja to be memorable.

Oyo State participants (NAWOJIANS) who were led by Ademola Babalola also extended their appreciation to these notable individuals for making them proud to be State contingent to NAWOJ election tagged Abuja 2023.

While Architect Adebisi provided a five-star hotel accommodation in an highbrow location of Abuja for the team, others organised special get-together and very laudable financial donations to make the trip a worthwhile experience.



“The Union prayed for them and assured them of its continuous commitment towards promoting good governance and egalitarian society for all,” the statement added.

In the same vein, the Oyo NUJ has congratulated all members of the Team Unite in the just concluded election as all the candidates led by the newly elected National President of NAWOJ, Aisha Ibrahim K. Baru won unprecedented votes of the delegates.

Aisha Ibrahim of the Borno State Ministry of Information Emerged President pulling a total number of 498 votes to defeat her opponent, Ladi Bala, who scored 381 votes.

The Adamawa journalist born Ladi Bala of the NTA failed to secure her second term bid as the president of the association.

The new Vice President of the Southwest state councils otherwise known as Zone B, Adeola Adekunle from Ondo State emerged victorious against Morenike Tony-Esan of the FRCN, Ibadan zonal station, leaving the zone to elect another Adeola Adewole of the State Ministry of Information as the Secretary.

The NUJ has therefore congratulated all female journalists in the State, just as it wished the new president of the association a successful stay in office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here