IDGS Alumni Launch #100million School Road, Gate Projects


…rededicates interest in Infrastructure, students’ welfare

….inaugurates new national executive members

The Old Students of Iseyin District Grammar School, Iseyin (IDGS) over the weekend launched a hundred million naira fund raising campaign to construct the school’s road and redesign its main entrance gate.


The event, which was part of the 60th Anniversary of the school also witnessed the inauguration of new national executive committee that will pilot the affairs of the association for the next three years.


The Chairman of the occasion who is also an alumnus, Senator Gbenga Babalola charged all alumni of IDGS at home and in diaspora to rededicate themselves to the development of the school’s infrastructure, students and members of staff’s welfare.


He commended the efforts of the State Governor, Engr. Seyi Makinde on his dedication to change the fortune of the education sector for the better in Oyo State and urge the State administration to do more in physical infrastructure for public schools.


“We are happy to celebrate IDGS at sixty and we have seen wonderful jobs that have been done by every set among the alumni to give the school its present enviable condition, we are rededicating ourselves to serve the school more as it has served us in the past.


“While appreciating the executive governor of Oyo State for his efforts to make education affordable and effective through policies and proper funding, we appeal for more, like Oliver Twist, we also call on the old and new sets of alumni at home and in diaspora to continue to support the school, this we shall achieve, God willing.”


The event also witnessed the inauguration of the newly-elected national executive officers of the association, which include the National President, Alhaji Ademola Dauda and the Secretary General, Dr. Femi Oyediran.


Others are Mrs Felicia Shiyanbola, National Vice-President, Comrade Wasiu Ademola, Assistant General Secretary, Mr. Alhazan Abiodun, National Publicity Secretary and Mrs Rashidat Gambari as the National Treasurer.


The list also has Mrs Yetunde Olona as the National Financial Secretary, Mr. Liadi Adeyinka as National Auditor, Mrs Aliu Alice as National Social Secretary, Chief Ademola Bamidele as Ex-officio 1 and Dr. Toyosi Raheem as Ex-officio 2.


Among the dignitaries that attended the event is the former Honorable representing Iseyin, Itesiwaju, Kajola And Iwajowa, Abiodun Olasupo, the representative of State Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Engr. Bayo Salam, community and religious leaders.


The five days-long celebration started with a sensitization rally on Wednesday and debate competition as well as career talk on Thursday, while a special lecture on educational advancement and school infrastructural condition held on Friday morning, which culminated in the observation of Jumat Service at the Olona Central Mosque, Barracks, Iseyin.


The election to pick national executive members also held on Friday afternoon and on Saturday, the inauguration of the national officers, launching of the #100million endowment fund for the school roads and redesigned entrance gate was done.


A special service to wrap up the anniversary held at the Anglican Diocese, Okutapemo, Iseyin on Sunday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here