Makinde, Lawal, 32 Oyo Lawmakers Receive Certificates of Return


Oyo state governor, Engineer Seyi Makinde, his deputy, Bayo Lawal and thirty two lawmakers in the state who won at the 2023 general elections have been presented with the certificates of return by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.


The ceremony held at the University Of Ibadan conference centre, which was in accordance with section 72:1 of the electoral act had in attendance wives of the governor and the deputy governor, head of security agencies, political appointees and other stakeholders in the electoral process.


In a welcome address, Oyo state Residents Electoral Commissioner, INEC, Dr. Adeniran Tella while appreciating relevant stakeholders for their support before, during and after the general elections, appealed to the elected Leaders to use their renewed mandate to reawaken the confidence of the electorates on their voting exercise.



Tella said the use of technology for the 2023 polls added value to the improved electoral process, calling for the support of the political class to help the commission conduct better exercise in coming elections.


Also speaking, INEC National Commissioner for Oyo, Lagos, and Ekiti states, Mr. Sam Olumekun hinted that the preparation for this year’s election commenced immediately after the 2019 polls which he said contributed to the success of the elections.


Reacting shortly after receiving his certificate of return, the newly re-elected governor of Oyo state, Engineer Seyi Makinde dedicated the election victory to the people of the state.


Governor Makinde said it was time to hit the ground running to redouble the efforts that take Oyo state from poverty to prosperity


The ceremony also had in attendance Olubadan in council, the Christian Association of Nigeria, Chief Imam of Ibadan, Chief Imam Abdulganiy Agbotomokekere, former and present National Assembly lawmakers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here