NANTA Asks Makinde to Create Ministry of Arts, Cuture and Tourism


By Oluwakemi Ishola 

The National Association of Nigerian Travel Agencies (NANTA), has called on Oyo State Governor, Engr. Seyi Makinde, to declare a state of emergency on tourism sector of the state by creating Ministry of Arts, Cuture and Tourism.

The association said effective operation and enhancement of domestic tourism would drastically improved the internally generated revenues of the state.

The Zonal leaders of NANTA made their positions known during a solidarity visit to Governor Makinde’s Special Adviser on Tourism Arts and Culture, Chief Akeem Ademola Ige.

The Vice President, Mr. Afolabi Hezekiah, in his address noted that the appointment of Chief Ademola Ige as Adviser on Tourism is in the right direction based on his antecedents as an administrator, lawmaker, tourism and cultural enthusiast. He expressed the readiness of the association to synergize with Oyo state government in promoting tourism with a view to creating jobs for youths of the state as well as improving the internally generated revenues.

Afolabi further urged the government to assist arts and tourism sector with palliatives in form of tax holiday and other incentives to cushion the effects of coronavirus pandemic, which has greatly affect their operations.

In his remarks, an ex officio of NANTA -Dr. Olatokunbo Dagunduro lamented the negligence of tourism sector in Oyo State. According to Olatokunbo, “Oyo state is endowed with a lot of potentials but it is sad that they are not being fully utilized for economic development”.

Chief Ademola Ige while thanking the NANTA Executives for the solidarity visit, declared that Oyo State is indeed blessed with lots of tourism sites and countless of

artistes. “We are already rejigging Oyo State tourism sector, and ready to provide conducive environments for tourists and investors” he assured.

On the solidarity visit included the immediate past Zonal Vice President and Ex-Officio, Dr. Olatokunbo Dagunduro; the Zonal General Secretary, Mr.Ajijola Bewaji; the Zonal Welfare Officer, Mr. Obasa Isaac; the Internal Auditor, Erelu Funmi Rotiba and the Zonal Public Relations Officer, Mr Ajibade Olaleye.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here