Oyo Assembly Reshuffles House Standing Committees


Peter Ayoade

The Oyo State House of Assembly has reshuffled its standing committees for more effective oversight functions.

The Speaker, Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon. Adebo Ogundoyin during plenary on Tuesday announced the reshuffling of the 27 house standing Committees.

Hon. Ogundoyin encouraged members of the standing Committees to take their oversight functions seriously as this will further help in presenting the 9th Oyo Assembly as a vibrant and focused house.

”Your oversight functions are to aid the activities of the Oyo State Government hence every member must be actively involved in Committee assignments. It is not to witch hunt anybody but to assist Government in proper implementation and execution of duties and responsibilities. I am convinced the 9th Oyo Assembly has what its takes to enhance governance, promote accountability and serve as watchdogs to other arms of Government including Ministries, Agencies and Parastatals,” Oyo Speaker said.

The Committees as announced by the Speaker have Hon. Akeem Mustapha as the Chairman of Public Accounts, Finance and Appropriation, while Hon. Ademola Olusegun Popoola heads the Local Government, Chieftaincy Matters and Honors Committee.

Hon Olamide Francis Olagoke is in charge of Inter-Parliamentary Relations just as Hon. Olatunde Taofeeq Kehinde oversees Works and Transport Committee while Hon. Akeem Obadara is the Chairman House Committee on Security and Strategy.

The Chairman House Committee on Information, Media and ICT still remains Hon. Kazeem Olayanju while Hon. Bimbo Oladeji continues as House Committee Chairman on Women Affairs and Community Development among other Committee heads and members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here