UIMGA honours VP Shettima, Alli, Akintunde, 21 others


The University of Ibadan Muslim Graduates Association (UIMGA) has awarded Vice President Kashim Shettima, Senator Sharafadeen Alli (APC-Oyo South) and Senator Yunus Akintunde (APC-Oyo Central) for their selfless service to humanity.

This is contained in a statement signed by Senator Alli’s Special Adviser on Media, Mr. Akeem Abas and made available to newsmen on Monday in Ibadan.

The trio with 21 others were honoured for their sterling accomplishments, worthy ambassadorial services and contributions to the development of the university, their district and Nigeria.

The Vice President’s dedication and leadership were acknowledged, reflecting his commitment to making a positive impact.

Shettima, who was represented by Alhaji Jamiu MKO-Abiola, Special Assistant to the President on Special Duties, Office of the Vice President, emphasised the importance of education and collaboration in propelling the nation towards a brighter future.

He paid tribute to the UI for shaping his worldview and instilling in him the values of public service.

Alli, the Chairman Senate Committee on Electoral Matters, expressed gratitude for the recognition, saying such serves as validation for his efforts in public service.

He said that the award would strengthen his resolve and commitment to continue working tirelessly for the betterment of his constituents and the nation as a whole.

Alhaji idris Ismail from Ile-Ajeja, Oje in Ibadan, congratulated the awardees for sterling accomplishments and unwavering dedication.

He said that the award was an acknowledgment of Alli and Akintunde’s sterling leadership roles within their various constituencies including alumni platforms.

“Their accomplishments and unwavering dedication have made significant difference in their respective fields. It has also brought pride to the University of Ibadan.

“I congratulate each of the awardees while encouraging them to do more in the service of Allah, nation-building and cause of humanity at large,” he said.

Among other awardees are Olowu of Owu kingdom, Oba (Prof.) Saka Matemilola, Onigbogbo of Igbogbo, Oba Semiudeen Kasali and Prof. Amudalat Olaniyan, wife of former deputy governor, Rauf Olaniyan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here