Against Permutations, Nureni Adeniran Floors Lanlehin, Sharafadeen Alli, Dele Adigun, Others to Clinch Oyo ADC Guber Ticket


By Adams Akorede

Hopes of Senator Olufemi Lanlehin, Chief Sharafadeen Abiodun Alli and Mr. Ayodele Adigun clinching the controversial gubernatorial ticket of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) in Oyo state failed on Tuesday evening as an underdog, Dr. Nureni Adeniran was announced as winners of the tension-soaked election among all the 13 governorship aspirants.
The consensus by election among all the aspirants became the last resort because Senator Lanlehin who was earlier picked by elders of the party, Senator Rashidi Ladoja, Chief Michael Koleoso, Dr. Busari Adebisi and arguably Chief Layiwola Olakojo, did not go down well with the other 12 aspirants, hence the latest development which produced Adeniran.
The 12 aggrieved aspirants had earlier approached a Federal High Court in Abuja, seeking the nullification of Lanlehin’s candidature as illegal because his emergence was unknown to the party’s constitution.
The front and back development forced the hand of the National Working Committee of the ADC to opt for a consensus election.
The 13 aspirants who participated in the election that produced Dr. Adeniran were Lanlehin, Sharafadeen Alli, Dr. Yunus Akintunde, Alhaji Taofeek Arapaja, Mr. Dele Adigun, Engr. Remi Olaniyan, Engr. Remi Oseni, Otunba Oluseye Opatoki, Chief Lowo Obisesan, Dr. Kola Balogun, Mr. Festus Wale Adegoke and Senator Gbenga Babalola.
Against all permutations by top aspirants in the race like Lanlehin, Alli and Akintunde, Dr. Adeniran garnered five votes to occupy the first position leaving them and others like Oseni, Adigun, Akintunde behind.
Adeniran was a former councillor, local government chairman and Commissioner for Education. He is a lawyer, politician and academic.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here