COVID-19: FG Announces States to Participate in Drugs Trials


Four drugs that could help treat coronavirus are to be trialled on patients in Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Lagos, Ogun, Kaduna, Sokoto and Kano States.

The Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, stated this on Monday, during the daily briefing of the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19. According Osagie, “FCT, Lagos, Ogun, Kaduna, Sokoto and Kano States, have enrolled on the World Health Organisation (WHO) treatment regimen on solidarity drug trials.”

Dr Fiona Braka, WHO Nigeria Officer in Charge (OiC) and member of the PTF on COVID-19, said the four drugs that will be monitored in the solidarity trial are Remdesivir; Chloroquine or hydroxychloroquine; Lopinavir, and Ritonavir.

An official  report as at Monday 11th May 2020 put Nigeria’s total number of confirmed cases at 4641 with 902 healed patients discharged; 150 deaths were recorded across the country.

Oyo State maintains its 14th position on the national COVID-19 log with 65 confirmed cases.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here