YWC Announces New Leadership Appointments As Elder Taye Ayorinde Emerges As Chairman


By Peter Ayoade

The Assembly of Yoruba Groups Worldwide on Thursday announced new leadership for the Yoruba World Congress (YWC), following the exit of Prof. Banji Akintoye.

The Assembly in a communique issued on Wednesday at the end of its second convergence held in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital, said Akintoye ceased to be the leader of the Yoruba ethnic nationality with his recent exit from YWC for another group, Ilana Oduduwa.

The communique was signed by Elder (Dr.) Taye Ayorinde, Sheikh Abdulraheem Aduramigba, Comrade Victor Taiwo, Architect George Akinola, Bishop George Adegbolagun and Prince Eric Oluwole.

Others are Papa Olalere Ayalu, Comrade Abereoran, Mr. Bayo Sangotikun, and Comrade Taiwo Otitolaye.

The Assembly in the six-point communique also announced that the YWC would now be known as Yoruba World Congress International under an 11-man Interim Governing Council members with Elder (Dr.) Taye Ayorinde, as Chairman.

Other members include Dr. Amos Akingba, Chief Tola Adeniyi, Dr. Tunde Amusat, Sheikh Abdul-Raheem Aduranigba, Prof. Oluwakayode Ogundoro, Otunba Deji Osibogun, Mrs. Dupe Ajayi-Gbadebo, Comrade Laoye Sanda, Mr. Tajudeen Raimi (ProTem Diaspora Central Coordinator) and
Comrade Victor Taiwo.

It added that several necessary committees will be constituted, stating that all the leaders of the various organizations would be carried along to form the GENERAL ASSEMBLY such that everybody will have a sense of belonging.

The communique read in part, “It has been proposed that the members of the General Assembly shall have to institute a body to make the constitution and structures available for the body. It has been proposed that a Board of Trustees (BoT) comprising Very Eminent and Important Personalities in the society shall be instituted.

“It has been proposed that a body that will embrace all our Traditional Rulers shall be instituted. It has been proposed that there will be a body comprising the youth representatives of Yorubaland where all issues of the youths shall be discussed.

“It has been proposed that a body of 17-man Vice Presidents to be generated from across the 17 sub-ethnic groups in Yorubaland will be instituted as part of the General Assembly. These sub-ethnic groups are as follows: Ibadan/Ibarapa, Egba/Egbado, Ijebu/Remo, Oyo, Ekiti, Ijesaland, Ikale/Ilaje, Ife/Origbo, Igbomina/Ila, Awori, Itsekiri, Egun/Sabe/Popo/Oyi, Akoko, Edo/Ibini, Okun Ondo/Akure/Owo and Ilorin/Ibolo/Ofa.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here