COVID-19: Alumni Donates N5m Research Grant to UNIUYO, Pharmaceutical Society


The Uniuyo Alumni Association has donated the sum of Five million Naira (5,000,000) to the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (Akwa Ibom State Council) and the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Uyo, to support research towards finding a cure against the Novel Coronavirus.

The International President of the Association, Rt. Hon. Onofiok Luke who made the donation on behalf of the Association noted that universities around the world are working tirelessly as well as sharing information to bring an end to the Pandemic and there was a need for the institution to do same. He expressed optimism that in the ways and manners of God, the one true cure of this global pandemic could be found in Akwa Ibom state and harnessed in the laboratories of the Faculty of Pharmacy of the University of Uyo.


“This particular strain of the virus was unknown to man but now it is here. Our researchers and research institutions need to rise to the occasion in challenging this Pandemic that threatens our collective existence…let us not think that the cure to Coronavirus will come or can only come from abroad, it may be right here with us in Akwa Ibom and it is in your hands to bring it forth” he said.

He further charged them to put in their best and ensure appropriate use of the funds while reassuring them of the support of the entire Alumni.

Receiving the grant, Dean of Pharmacy, Pharm. Emmanuel I. Etim Ph.D, thanked the Alumni for the very thoughtful initiative. He applauded the Onofiok Luke Led Alumni for it’s show of solidarity while acknowledging that the desire for scientific work was always there but was hampered by the paucity of funds. He pledged that the funds will be used judiciously.

Responding, Chairman, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, Pharm. Akwaowoh Akpabio appreciated the gesture and prayed God’s wisdom on the leadership of the Alumni.

The event which held at the Dean’s Conference room, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of uyo, had in attendance the members of Exco, Dean of Pharmacy, Dr. Emmanuel I. Etim, Chairman PSN, Pharm. Akwaowoh Akpabio, Deputy President of the Alumni, Dr. Godwin Akpan, Alumni secretary and Vice Dean of Student’s Affairs, Dr. Essien Akpan Uko and other members of the Alumni EXCO.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here